When You Assume . . .

Tonight, a friend of mine slipped something into my hand as I was leaving the parking lot. Now, I hadn’t seen that friend in months, and she knows I’m a widow struggling economically, so when she slipped what looked like a folded envelope into my hand while asking me about my job search, I assumed she might be giving me some money.

wrong

What’s that saying about when you assume?

Once I got home and looked at what she gave me, I realized that it’s an invitation to a wedding reception. At the bottom of the invitation, the guests are asked to bring a side dish. So, knowing that I’m struggling economically, my friend invited me to a celebration where I’m expected to bring food and a present.

I don’t know what to make of that. At least she suggested I look into her company’s website for job openings . . .

signature

One thought on “When You Assume . . .

Leave a Reply

