Book Review – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

faultAuthor: John Green
Pages: 318
Publisher: Dutton Books grca_badge_winner-

Summary: Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

My Review: I finished this book a week ago, but it’s taken me this long to formulate a thought regarding it let alone write a review.

I don’t know why I resisted reading this for so long. I kept seeing reviews on book blogs, but I didn’t even read them. Everyone seemed to love the story, and it turned me off, until. . .

One day a couple of weeks ago, I went on my bi-monthly library trip and thought, “What the heck? I’ll just read it.” But I didn’t read it right away. It sat in the book bag for almost a week before I picked it up.

What an idiot! I should have read this sooner!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I’ve read John Green’s other novels and I’ve loved them, but I suppose I didn’t pay attention his name because I was totally taken aback when I realized who he was and how I felt about his previous work.

Let me just say that this is a book about kids with cancer, but as one of the characters says, this is NOT a cancer book. There are quite a few funny moments in this book, despite death constantly hanging over the character’s heads. There are truly poignant moments.The book is sweet, and it’s sad, and I wish it hadn’t ended, and I wish I could be friends with these people or that I could be as witty.

I borrowed this book from the library, but I have already extended my checkout at least twice. I think I might have to buy the book, although I’ve been thinking about getting it on Audible since I still have one credit left. But I don’t know if I can handle the emotion of this book if I’m listening to it.

What do you think? Did you read The Fault in Our Stars? Should I get it in hardback or should I get the Audible version?

signature

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. I loved this book, but like you, it took me a very long time (almost a year) to sit down and read it because of the subject matter. Immediately after, I read Two Boys Kissing and thought, well, I guess it makes sense to read Will Grayson, Will Grayson, since JG and David Levithan co-wrote that one together. I like the two together, their styles complement, but feel different enough.

Leave a Reply

