Learning Knit and Crochet

Have I told you how I learned to knit and crochet? If I have, well, you’re about to hear it again. We’ll blame it on a mental blip.

I learned to crochet when I was five years old. I was always very proud of this fact because outside of my family, it seemed that few knew the skill, certainly none of my friends. When I was five, back in the mid-seventies, my parent made extra money by making crochet cushions and capes. They would sell the finished products to a local TG&Y, a store similar to Rite Aid. To keep me busy, my mother put a crochet hook in my hands and gave me a ball of yarn. I remember starting with chains, and eventually learning a treble crochet. I totally skipped the single and double crochet stitches.

Every winter, I’d fiddle with yarn projects, but it wasn’t until I was a teenager, when I saw my aunt using two knitting needles that I actually made a garment. My aunt Gloria taught me how to knit one summer during the 80’s. I remember how popular knitted tops were. She was making extra money by knitting them for her neighbors. I bought purple yarn and got to work. I wish I had a picture of that blouse, but I don’t, and it’s long gone.

Vine Yoke Cardigan

Vine Yoke Cardigan

Since then, I’ve knitted mostly scarves, hats, and stoles, and I’ve crochet blankets and hats. I’ve got my eye on this sweater,  but I haven’t started on it yet. I’ve got the yarn all picked out, a lovely, soft blue yarn I picked up at Stitches West a few years ago. 

I’m not sure what’s stopping me, but maybe this month I’ll pick up the needles and give it a try.

signature

Leave a Reply

