Olive Garden’s Dolcini

A few weeks ago, I took a Jamie drive. (For a definition of a Jamie drive, read this.) I headed south without aim or purpose, and sooner, rather than later, I realized I was hungry. Good thing, I was near an Olive Garden, which used to be a favorite of mine when I lived in Texas, but after marrying someone with a refined and finicky palate, I didn’t frequent the restaurant as much. My late husband, raised in the Bay Area, was used to real Italian food, so for him, the Olive Garden was like cheap fast food. Yes, he was a food snob, so we never visited one together, but usually, if I’m in the area, I make it a point to stop for a meal.

I took advantage of their “Buy One, Take One” deal for $12.99, and ordered Mezzaluna Ravioli to eat at the restaurant and took the Smoked Mozzarella Chicken home (which I highly recommend!). I also had a cocktail, but the highlight of my meal was the dessert. I chose to get three Dolcini, which are little desserts, about the size of woman’s fist made with layers of cake, mouse, pastry creams and berries.

I chose the chocolate mousse (of course!), the Limoncello Mousse, and the Amaretto Tiramisu.

(l-r) Limoncello Mousse, Chocolate Mousse, Amaretto Tiramisu

(l-r) Limoncello Mousse, Chocolate Mousse, Amaretto Tiramisu

 

Fifteen minutes later:

All gone!

All gone!

 

I recommend that you try three at a time because it’s less expensive than getting only one, and they’re quite small. Which one would you try?

signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

