Drinking Coffee

Are you a coffee drinker?

I’ll admit that I’ll reach for a tea bag before I reach for coffee beans, but my father was a huge coffee drinker. Unfortunately for him, he died before the big coffee boom which made Starbucks, Peet’s Coffee, and Keurig so popular. My father drank instant coffee, mostly because he grew up poor, and even as an adult, he never saw coffee as a luxury food. I remember him drinking cold, black coffee from a pot which had been sitting on the stove since early morning. He didn’t really mind that it was cold, or that it had been sitting out all day. What he cared about was that there was always a pot ready. He drank coffee with his breakfast, lunch, dinner, and in between. If his cup was empty, he’d either point to it, or lightly thump it on the table, signaling he wanted a refill.

a-cup-of-coffee-picture-material_38-4424

I own a Keurig coffeemaker, which fortunately for me, I can use to make tea, hot chocolate, apple cider, and other non-coffee beverages. I keep different flavored coffee pods for my MIL, and I’ve grown to love mochas, which I admit I drink freely during winter. But for the most part, it’s tea I drink whenever I want a warm drink.

I’ve often lamented that my father never got the opportunity to try the flavored coffee drinks so popular today, but then again, I doubt he’d like the froufrou drinks 😉

signature

2 thoughts on “Drinking Coffee

  1. I love coffee! I cannot live without it. I go to Starbucks all the time. There is something about going to get coffee that just makes my day complete. It great when you go so much they know you by name and what you usually drink.

Leave a Reply

