Top Ten Tuesday

top 10 tuesday

I subscribe to several book blogs that participate in The Broke and the Bookish’s weekly top 10 meme, and I’ve been wanting to join in; however, some of the topics haven’t sparked a response in me, so this is the first one I’m writing because today’s topic hit a chord in me.

top ten books forced

My first thought when I saw this topic was all the books forced on me in high school and college by the school curriculum, but there have been others who have forced books on me. Some I liked; some I hated. Here’s the list in no particular order:

1. The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman yellowwallpaper

We had to read this for one of my English lit courses (I’ve forgotten which one), and I loved it! This is the story of a woman’s slow descent into depression and madness, and all because of bad health advice!

2. The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket by Edgar Allen Poe

This was required reading for an American Lit course. Edgar Allen Poe was a GREAT short story writer but a lousy novelist! Painful to read!

3. Moby Dick by Herman Melville

I know this is supposed to be a great novel about the one that got away, but I could not get through all the whaling chapters, so I didn’t.

4. The Lottery by Shirley Jackson

I read this in college and loved it so much that later I taught it in high school. Winning the lottery is not always a good thing.

5. The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka

Who wouldn’t like the story about a guy who turns into a cockroach?! An enjoyable required reading book.

6. Beowulf beowulf

I was forced to read and dissect this once in high school and twice in college. I remember resenting having to read this book so many times, and I can’t say that I actually enjoyed it.

7. Go Ask Alice by Anonymous

I was forced to read this by my own niece and in Spanish! This book was very popular in the 80’s I guess, and she read it and enjoyed it, and I was bookless, so I read it. It wasn’t a fast read because of the language.

8. The Bible

I wasn’t forced as much as encouraged to read this, and it’s been a life-saver. It’s one book you can read many times over and get a something new each time.

9. The Jungle by Upton Sinclair

I don’t remember if I read this for a history class or an English class, but I remember being impressed by the story and drawn into it.

10. There’s a book I read to feel part of a group, but  I don’t remember the title nor do I remember enjoying it. I just remember wishing we’d read something different.

What about you? Have you been forced into reading something that you later loved? Or were you forced into reading something you wish you hadn’t?

signature

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I can’t believe you read Go Ask Alice in Spanish. AH. You read a lot of great literature books because of school. As a high school teacher, I’m just glad you liked some of them. 🙂

    • Funny thing is that I’m an English teacher, too, but I found myself having to read a lot of dead white guys in college, many whose stories I did not enjoy, so I ended up with an M.A. in Mexican American Lit.

Leave a Reply

