The Password Dilemma

Ok, so I’m having trouble keeping a charge on my laptop’s battery. Sometimes the cable seems to be connecting, and the icon shows the battery being charged, and seconds later, it will disappear, and I’m relying solely on the battery, but the battery doesn’t seem to hold a charge for very long. It’s been a frustrating situation for the last week or so. Once, I was in the middle of an important task when the computer shut down. It was connected to the power source, yet the battery wasn’t charging. I was so frustrated! This happened once before, about a year ago, and the solution was to buy a new power cord, which included several adapters, one which was perfect for this laptop.

I guess I tend to be a little spacey sometimes, because once or twice, I’ve tripped on the power cord. I never thought about damaging the unit, but I think I might have because the connection seems loose. So I did some research and found out that the something called the DC jack might be the problem and would need to be replaced. Before taking the laptop to the repair shop, I figured it might be a good idea to delete any saved passwords, just in case the person who fixed it isn’t as honest as me.

Which brings me to the real topic of this post:

password dilemma

I didn’t realize how much I relied on Chrome to save my passwords until I started the task of writing them down in preparation of having someone take a look at my laptop; once I started, I was overwhelmed. I have passwords for clothing sites, for job sites, for knitting sites, for picture sites, for medical sites, for blogs, the list is endless. (Seriously, I think I’ve signed up for over 100 sites!) Once upon a time, I used a simple, easy-to-remember password for everything, and I’d change a letter or number every once in a while, but the more sites I joined, the more confusing it got. Had I changed the numbers? Or did I capitalize the first letter, or was it the second letter? Did I add a symbol? Had I added it at the beginning or at the end of the password? I kept being locked out of sites for trying and failing several times.

We’ve all read that a strong password needs a combination of letters (capitalized and lower case), numbers, and a symbol or two. And we’ve also been warned not to use the same password for everything, especially regarding anything financial. That means having multiple passwords. So what do you do to remember them? One safe bet is to hand-write them and keep them somewhere safe. If you decide to keep them stored in a document on your computer, don’t name the file “Passwords,” but something obscure only you will know. My niece suggested emailing a copy to yourself, but I have a problem with that. What if your email is hacked? Then the hacker has your passwords to everything. My friend Marissa recommended using the title of a favorite song, movie, or book, and changing the capitalization and adding a number or symbol a few times a year. That’s a good idea, but I think I also need to remove myself from most of the sites I joined.

how to

What about you? How do you keep track of your passwords?

signature

Leave a Reply

