Watching Movies with MIL

Iron-Man-3-HD-Wallpaper-2013

 

So last night I went over to my mother-in-law’s for dinner and a movie. I had rented Iron Man 3 on Amazon and still had two days left on my three-day rental. My MIL has a hand-me-down HP desktop, but she hardly uses it. She’s not very tech savvy, and since her stroke, she mostly uses the iPod touch to play games. When her friend gave her the computer, she didn’t include speakers, but I had the setup my late husband used on our old desktop. I haven’t used that computer in over a year, so I thought, why not give her the speakers?

After hooking them up, making sure everything worked, we had dinner, a delicious homemade meatloaf, corn on the cob, roasted potatoes, and cole slaw. Yeah, it was good! We decided to eat dessert while watching the movie. In case you’re wondering, dessert was strawberries and cream with lemon pound cake. Needless to say, it was an unbutton the top button kinda meal.

My MIL loves superhero movies as much as I do, so I knew she was excited about watching Iron Man 3. And everything worked fine . . . for the first ten minutes. Then the buffering stopped. The computer froze and had to be restarted. This happened at least three times during the movie. And during the most important parts, too. It was so frustrating, but we finally got through the movie. At the end, she cracked me up with her comment about how Robert Downey Jr. was “sexy.” Now, I whole hardheartedly agree, but it seems funny coming from her.

It turns out she’d only watched the original Iron Man movie, but she hasn’t watched any of the Hulks, or Thor, or Captain America, so how can I show her The Avengers until she catches up? Worse yet, how can we watch the movies together on Netflix when her computer freezes every few minutes? My laptop has lousy sound, and the screen’s too small for both of us to enjoy the movie. I could have her come over to my house, but since my husband died, she hasn’t stepped a foot inside. It’s too difficult for her. So, my question is, do I unhook my Wii and take it over every time we want to watch a movie? What would you do?

signature

 

Leave a Reply

