Essential Oil Healing Salve

Healing salve

Remember how I told you that my new go-to site for essential oil recipes is Camp Wander? Well, I’ve been checking the site for different recipes I might want to try. One that caught my eye is the healing salve. It’s made with a decadent mixture of coconut oil, olive oil, vitamin E,  and some essential oils, with beeswax to help harden the mixture. I finally got my Amazon order for the beeswax, so I took the time to make a healing salve batch today.

I had to hunt around for glass jars, but I found some empty spice jars in the back of my pantry. After running them through the dishwasher and making sure all labels were off, I put the essential oils and vitamin E oil in the bottom of each one. I had three 4 oz. jars, one 2.5 oz. jar, and a lip balm jar. I decided to use the smaller jar and lip balm jar for my niece. She has terrible eczema on her hands during the winter. They crack and bleed. But since she’s in the fourth grade, I didn’t think her teacher would want her to have a glass jar in school. This way, she can carry a little in her backpack.

Using my Pyrex measuring cup, I measured the oils. I’ll be honest and tell you that I didn’t measure exactly. The cup holds 2 cups of liquid, but the recipe calls for 1 cup of olive oil, 1 cup of coconut oil, and 4 T of beeswax. I was afraid everything would overflow, so I eye-balled it, putting a little less than called for to make sure nothing spilled. Then I melted the mixture by putting the Pyrex cup in a 2 quart pot with water. It seemed to take a long time to melt the wax on low, so I raised the heat a little. I used a wooden skewer to mix.

Once the beeswax was melted, I carefully took the Pyrex cup out of the water using a pot holder. Then cautiously, I poured the melted oils into the glass jars. It took less than half an hour for the jars to cool completely. The only jar I filled all the way was the DREAM recipe, which is supposed to help with insomnia, but all the others, I left a little room since I didn’t follow the recipe exactly and needed more of the melted oil, but I had already poured the EOs into the jars. I can’t wait to try this tonight. Maybe I’ll be able to sleep through the night.

Cooled Healing Salve

Cooled Healing Salve

To make your own, go to Camp Wander for full directions.

INGREDIENTS YOU NEED FOR THE HEALING SALVE
Olive Oil
Coconut Oil
Vitamin E Oil (optional)
Beeswax

ESSENTIAL OILS YOU NEED FOR HEALING SALVE
Lemon
Malaleuca (TEA TREE)
Lavender

ESSENTIAL OILS YOU NEED FOR THE DREAM RECIPE
Cinnamon Bark
Ginger
Peppermint
Lemon
Grapefruit

 signature

Leave a Reply

