North of Beautiful

Author: Justina Chen Headley north-of-beautiful

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Pages: 373

North of Beautiful

SummaryAs he continued to stare, I wanted to point to my cheek and remind him, But you were the one who wanted this, remember? You’re the one who asked-and I repeat-Why not fix your face? 

It’s hard not to notice Terra Cooper.

She’s tall, blond, and has an enviable body. But with one turn of her cheek, all people notice is her unmistakably “flawed” face. Terra secretly plans to leave her stifling small town in the Northwest and escape to an East Coast college, but gets pushed off-course by her controlling father. When an unexpected collision puts Terra directly in Jacob’s path, the handsome but quirky Goth boy immediately challenges her assumptions about herself and her life, and she is forced in yet another direction. With her carefully laid plans disrupted, will Terra be able to find her true path?

Written in lively, artful prose, award-winning author Justina Chen Headley has woven together a powerful novel about a fractured family, falling in love, travel, and the meaning of true beauty.

REVIEW:

After finishing this book last night, I felt good. I wanted to live in the cozy world that Terra inhabits. Don’t get me wrong, this book is not full of good feels. There’s something terrible about Terra’s father. His abusive, invective language and treatment of his wife and children made me wish this book had some real butt-kicking, but the relationship between Jason and Terra, and Norah and mom, well, that’s what gave me the cozy feels.

THINGS THIS BOOK MADE ME WANT: 

1. A trip to China with a man who makes me feel beautiful and with whom I can be completely myself.

2. My mom back (She died when I was young, and I wish we could have traveled together.)

3. Learn geocaching.

3. To make art and be fearless at it

4. Upside down caramel macchiato

5. I loved this story! I want to see more of Jason and Terra.

Yeah, go out and read this book!

My rating: 5 out o f 5 stars

signature

Leave a Reply

