Crochet Shawlette

shawl closeup

Two years ago, at my first time at Stitches West, I bought two skeins of Helen Hamman 100% Superfine Alpaca in a nice deep red color. You know how being surrounded by yarn, either at your LYS or at a knitting and crochet conference makes you go a little nuts? You squeeze the skeins and maybe rub them on your cheek, and then you put them back, walk around a little only to come back and impulsively buy the yarn without having a specific project in mind? Well, that’s what happened to me. I had these two skeins for two years. Every once in a while, I’d pick them up and think, “One day I’ll find the perfect project for you.” But I’d end up working on something that required a different type of yarn instead.

HH yarn

Well, back in July, I saw a Lion’s Brand crochet pattern for a shawlette. I thought, “Finally! This is the project!” The shawlette itself is not  full-length shawl, but it’s perfect for a light spring day. You can drape it around your shoulders on a night out.

This is an easy project for a beginner, and if you have some experience with crochet, then it’ll be a super fast project that you can whip up in  a couple of days. A chart is included if you’re a visual person. I’d recommend using a thinner yarn. If lace weight intimidates you, then a DK weight would work. The yarn I used was a superfine, not really as thin as lace weight, but thinner than DK. And because it is pure alpaca, it is warm enough that I can wear it wrapped tighter around my neck in the winter.

I got so many compliments and a few requests for it when I wore it. This project is interesting enough to make again and again yet it’s simple enough that it’s done within days. I recommend using it if you want to make a quick gift for someone.

Here’s a picture of the shawlette as it dries. I blocked it by spraying it with a water bottle, laying flat on the floor on a clean towel. I used pins to define the edges, pulling each peak tight, then I let it dry. Once it was blocked, the shawlette has kept its shape even after I wore it several times.

closeup shawl

You can find the pattern here.

Leave a Reply

