Book Review: Rush by Eve Silver (The Game # 1)

I was so excited to be part of the 2013 DAC Arc Tour of Rush by Eve Silver.

Author: Eve Silver

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Pages: 361

Rush-by-Eve-Silver

Summary: When Miki Jones is pulled from her life, pulled through time and space into some kind of game—her carefully controlled life spirals into chaos. In the game, she and a team of other teens are sent on missions to eliminate the Drau, terrifying and beautiful alien creatures. There are no practice runs, no training, and no way out. Miki has only the guidance of secretive but maddeningly attractive team leader Jackson Tate, who says the game isn’t really a game, that what Miki and her new teammates do now determines their survival, and the survival of every other person on this planet. She laughs. He doesn’t. And then the game takes a deadly and terrifying turn.

Rush (The Game, #1)

Review: My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh boy! I was so excited to be chosen to take part of the 2013 ARC tour of Rush by Eve Silver! To be honest, it’s the first time I’ve ever done anything like it. I’ve posted a few reviews of books on my blog, but every one of those books has been borrowed from the library. This is the first time I’ve been given the opportunity to review a book before it officially comes out.

My review: I loved this book! The concept was so different. Imagine there’s a parallel world where a battle against aliens is taking place, and the fighters are teens. They are pulled into the battle, which is like a video game, with similar rules.

I liked every one of the characters, especially Jackson. I guess in writing, I like the bad boys, although, I don’t think he’s as bad as he’s made out to be.

Miki is a tough, kick-butt chick, and although she’s still mourning her mother’s death, she doesn’t come off like some self-involved teen.

There’s some unexplained things, but if you just sit back and enjoy the ride, it’s a non-stop Rush. See what I did there?

I have to admit, my reaction at the end was, “NO!! This book just came out and I have to wait who knows how long for the next book in the series!”

I’d read this book again right before reading book two, which I hope will be soon.

View all my reviews

signature

Leave a Reply

