5/26/13 – #CHALLENGETOWRITE

May 26, 2013 – Did you have an imaginary friend as a kid?

dropdeadfred

You know that movie, Drop Dead Fred, with Phoebe Cates, where she starts seeing her childhood imaginary friend after her recent marital troubles? Well, I remember watching that movie and thinking, “Why didn’t I think of creating a friend?”

You see, even though my siblings are much older than me, and I was essentially raised as an only child, and even though I spent a lot of time on my own, I never created an imaginary friend. I occupied my time with little craft projects, sewing clothes for my Barbie or coloring in my books, or reading. I never felt the need to imagine a friend.

Apparently, many kids make up friends for themselves. According to many theories, there is nothing wrong with that, so don’t go thinking there is something wrong with your child if she decides she has an imaginary friend.

There are some things to keep in mind though:

  • Make sure that the imaginary friend is not your child’s only friend. Make sure she socializes with other children her age.
  • Don’t let your child shift responsibility for wrongdoing to the imaginary friend.
  • Don’t use the imaginary friend to guilt your child into doing something.

Your turn:

Did you have an imaginary friend as a kid? Comment below.

signature

 

One thought on “5/26/13 – #CHALLENGETOWRITE

Leave a Reply

