5/24/13 #CHALLENGETOWRITE

May 24, 2013 #CHALLENGETOWRITE

What has been the hardest part about blogging daily?

writing

One of the hardest things as a writer is to stare at a blank page or screen. As an English teacher, I know this, of course, but somehow, it didn’t occur to me before to make myself do some prewriting activities to get started. When I started this blog, I had a vague idea of where I wanted it to go, but I’m still finding my voice and direction.

I’ve done a few book reviews because I enjoy reading, and some of the books I’ve read recently were too good to keep to myself. I’ve also written a little bit about my crafts, namely the crocheting and knitting. But I haven’t written on a daily basis.

I wish I had found #CHALLENGETOWRITE at the beginning of the month because if I had, I would have been writing every day.  Without the challenge, without a plan for daily blogging, well, my entries were few and far between. I had some ideas for what to write about, but I didn’t feel very focused.

Now, I’m enthused about writing every day. Having a prompt as a jumping point is good not only for daily blog entries but also because it sparks creativity. I remember my freshman writing class. We did ten minutes of free-writing at the beginning of class, and that stream-of-consciousness writing brought things to light that I didn’t realize I was struggling with or stories that needed to be told.

I think the hardest thing is to make myself sit and write, and I find myself unable to do that in the daytime. But for some reason, at 1 am, with the TV on for background noise and the lights off, I can sit with my laptop and write.

 

signature

Leave a Reply

