5/20/13 #CHALLENGETOWRITE

May 20, 2013 #CHALLENGETOWRITE

Do you have siblings? If so, what do you think are their best qualities? 

mom with us1

From left to right: Yolanda, Nora (with Noelly), me behind Mom, and Juanita

This prompt is from a few days ago, but when I read it, it made me reflect on how fortunate I am to have the siblings I have. My siblings all share the qualities of being generous and kind. All four of them are some of the most hardworking people you’ll ever meet. Unfortunately, I didn’t grow up with them since I came late in my parents’ marriage. By the time I was born, my brother and two of my sisters were married with families of their own.

I am the youngest of 5, born 14 years after my closest sibling, my sister Nora. She is a very caring and generous person. If she sees someone who need help, any kind of help, she willingly offers. I lived with her after my parents’ deaths, and often we had house guests, people who needed a place to stay for a day or two. She’s also very knowledgeable about home remedies, cooking, sewing, and other domestic tasks. In fact, every time I’m sick, I call her for help. I always saw Nora as a superwoman since she was a single mother after her divorce, and she finished raising me and raised her own three daughters. I don’t ever remember there being a problem that she couldn’t solve. Even now, she’s one I can count on for a solution, a recipe, an idea.

My second sister, Yolanda, was a very determined woman with a strong sense of right and wrong. And if she felt you were wrong, well, she’d make sure you knew it. I use the past tense when talking about her because she died seven years ago when she became a victim of a bus accident while crossing a street. Yolanda had a strong personality, and she was 17 years my senior. In fact, her oldest son is only a few months older than me. She and I had many arguments when I was growing up. It’s safe to say that we didn’t always agree, but as I got older, I realized that we share some of the same qualities. Perhaps that’s why we didn’t always get along. Nevertheless, I miss her every day.

My oldest sister, Juanita, is a year or two older than Yolanda. She already had two kids when I came along. When I was growing up, we often visited Juanita during summer and winter vacations. She’s a hardworking woman. Never one to have a traditional job outside the home, she often had side businesses, crocheting sandals in the 1980’s or selling used clothing out of her home. Even now, she makes tamales to sell. I’ve always thought of  Juanita as the funny one because she always finds the humor in any situation.

My brother is the oldest and obviously the only son. As the oldest son in a Mexican family, he’s become the head of our family, and my sisters and I defer to him.  He’s a farmer in Dinuba, California. If you’ve eaten any cherries  with the O-G Packing & Cold Storage logo recently, then you’ve eaten cherries that my brother or even my nephew picked.

How about you? Do you have any siblings? What are their best qualities?

signature

2 thoughts on “5/20/13 #CHALLENGETOWRITE

    • Thank you so much! I felt a little naked when writing that, but I’m glad you can tell how much I love them.

Leave a Reply

