Banana Nut Bread

It’s 1:30 am and I’m waiting for my banana nut bread to finish cooking. What am I doing up this late baking? Well, I took a nap this afternoon and woke up at 7 pm. I’m not sleepy, and I’m craving baked goods. It’s not weird, is it?

I found two recipes online somewhere and combined them. I don’t have the sources, but here’s what I did.

Banana Nut Bread

1/3 c butter

1 c sugar (the recipe called for 1/2 c sugar, 1/2 honey, but I wasn’t sure I wanted to try that)

2 eggs

2 bananas (the recipe called for 1 1/2 bananas, but what am I going to do with the leftover banana? It’s too ripe.)

1/2 t vanilla

1/2 t baking soda

1 1/2 c flour

1/2 c walnuts

1/4 t cinnamon (I didn’t have any nutmeg, bummer)

1 t salt

I creamed the butter and sugar first, before adding the eggs and bananas. Once that was done, I added the flour and other dry ingredients, then the vanilla and walnuts. I used my hand mixer, then I poured the contents into a greased loaf pan. I used coconut oil to coat the pan since it’s easy to spread and good for you.

Bake for 1 hour at 325 degrees. (update, with two bananas, I had to increase the cooking time by half an hour, but watch your own oven. It may differ for you.)

10 minutes to go and my late night snack will be ready. Jealous?

Leave a Reply

