The Host

I was too sick on opening night, so I had to wait until today to see Stephanie Meyer’s The Host.

I had been anxiously awaiting this film for a couple of years. I first found this book a couple of years ago, when everyone was going gaga over Twilight, which I have not read since vampires and werewolves are not my thing, but give me an alien invasion, and I’m there.

I enjoyed the story so much that after I finished reading it, I immediately downloaded the audio book and listened to the story all over again. It was as if I was in another world. I didn’t want it to end.

Melanie Stryder is part of the human resistance to the invaders called “Souls,” benign aliens who in habit the intelligent creatures on every planet they visit. I say benign aliens because they do not use violence to take over a planet. And when they do, they heal the earth and set up a society free of strife and violence. The downside, of course, is that when the Souls take over a human body, the human is trapped inside his own mind and eventually withers and dies.

But Melanie is a fighter. Her love for her brother and boyfriend, Jared, is so strong that it she doesn’t fade. In times of great stress, she even has control of her own body.

Melanie’s memories of her life with Jared are so strong that they begin to affect the Soul within, named Wanderer. She earned that name because she has lived for a 1,000 years, going from planet to planet, from species to species, experiencing many lives. Wanda, as she is later known,  yearns for Jared, so much so, that she sets out to find him. Trailing her is a Seeker, unusually obsessed with finding the human resistance.

 

The book was amazing. Although I liked the movie, there were many conversations and descriptions in the book that were missing. The book is well-written, fast-paced, and filled with the angst of an impossible love triangle.

My MIL enjoyed the movie even without any knowledge of the plot. I enjoyed it because I had read the book.

Saoirse Ronan does a good job of interpreting both main characters, and Diane Kruger is great as an unhinged Seeker. The eye candy, err, the two love interests, were great, too. When I read the book, I identified with Wanda and wanted her to find love with Ian.

I highly recommend both the book and the movie. Watch the movie, then go read the book.

 

If you’ve read the book or saw the movie, what did you think? Add your comments below or tweet me. I’d really like to know.

One thought on “The Host

  1. Pingback: La Collina Italian Ristorante and Full Bar | Mighty Knitting Chick

Leave a Reply

